Seven days

I spent the last couple of weeks of my summer training to assume my new position as an RA (Resident Advisor). During one of our training sessions, I learned about journaling as a stress-reliever- of course I picked the journaling session over the running one. I wrote the following post during that session and I'[m happy to say that it was very relaxing to get my feelings, which had been piling overwhelmingly high as the days went by, out on (cyber)paper. Though this is the closest I’ve come to having a journal, I’m a huge fan of writing as a stress-reliever. GO, WORDS!

In just a few days I will begin the opportunity of a lifetime. Wednesday is move-in day for my residents.

My team.

I have to say that a few weeks ago I was extremely nervous about this time. I was worried that I might misuse or not satisfy to the best of my ability this chance to impact the lives of my residents and inspire them to become life-long learners.

These past seven days have been incredibly eye-opening for me. Going through the training process to become an RA has really opened my mind to the challenges, but also the rewards, of this upcoming experience. I’ve found in only the last seven days that I was meant to play this role at my school. I feel like I was always supposed to be a role model and positive influence in the lives of others. Now I have my chance.

Before last week I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to handle this much responsibility- being a source of support and inspiration for my residents. Now, after I’ve developed incredible relationships with the other members of my staff and have thus been the recipient of their unwavering support and encouragement, I feel very confident that I will be able to do the same for my residents.

It’s three days before move-in and the door decs and bulletin boards are done. All I have left to do is hope that they will learn as much from me as I will be learning from them this year.

Seven days. That’s all it took to find where I belong.

Leave a Reply; I love Feedback

